Confessions of a Misguided Soul

I know, I know. That title is cheesy and ambiguous. Cut me some slack; there are only so many adjectives one can use to describe themselves in a “confession” state. I’m running out of ideas. Don’t get me wrong, I have a list in the works. It’s just a short one…

Back on topic. So you’re trying to lose weight. Why, exactly? 99% of losers (that’s both a correct statistic AND correct terminology. Source: Kaitlyn) will indicate their happiness as a factor in their decision to lose weight. It was my number two reason (see earlier post; my mom was the number one factor). But happiness is such a devious character, I’ve come to learn.

I am quite active on a message board for Weight Watchers members (hey, ladies!), and I have a quite vivid memory of a post a few months ago, from a girl discussing happiness. She went on to say that she assumed losing weight was the key to ultimate happiness.

This was 100% how I felt.

At the time, I remember being just over 200 pounds. I have a vivid recollection of myself thinking this woman was insane. She had to be lying. Weight loss IS happiness, who is she to say otherwise?

Well first of all, past-Kaitlyn, let me correct you on a few things.

1) Weight loss is not happiness. It is merely weight loss.

2) Every person is different. Every story is different. Although weight loss may be the key to happiness for you, it isn’t for everyone.

So, anyway. I have learned this and moved along. But I still am waiting for my own magical weight-loss-life-happiness. Where is it? It’s supposed to come. Will it come in 22 pounds? 42?

Maybe. Maybe it will. But I’m now reluctant to believe it, and frankly, don’t want to get my hopes up in case it doesn’t. I do feel misguided in this, but what am I to do? Life is too short to dwell on the incorrect information that has been provided to me, whether it be from my family, friends, or the media.

I need to find more than one thing in life that makes me feel happy and feel accomplished.

Maybe weight loss, in the end, will make me feel this way. But what if it doesn’t? I think it’s a good idea to have multiple goals in life. Not for the sake to accomplish them all, but in case one fails. Failure is inevitable. If you bought a car in hopes of getting from point A to point B, and it breaks down halfway, what do you do? Hopefully you have a back up plan. Who says we can’t do this with our happiness?

A happiness back up plan. It isn’t negativity, it’s preparedness.

I was misguided but it wasn’t too late to fix it. Maybe weight loss will make me feel accomplished, maybe it won’t. If it doesn’t, hopefully by then I will have a second goal to make me happy. Or a third.

Leave a comment